Home LATEST Taumalolo, Fiso recognised at RLPA Awards

Taumalolo, Fiso recognised at RLPA Awards


Kiwi Ferns captain Sarina Fiso has been awarded the New Zealand Representative Women’s Player of the Year award at The Players’ Champion evening on Tuesday night, joining male counterpart Jason Taumalolo as the major Kiwi winners.

New Zealander winger Jordan Rapana was also named in the The Players’ 13 Dream Team alongside Konrad Hurrell, while Taumalolo was the starting lock, having won the overall award last year.

This around the peer-voted gong went to Wests Tigers fullback James Tedesco, beating Cameron Smith, Sam Burgess and Taumalolo.

Canberra Raiders winger Nick Cotric was named Rookie of the Year after a stellar first season in the NRL, playing all 24 matches and scoring 16 tries.

New Kiwis captain Adam Blair was recognised for Pasifika Leadership & Excellence, while Junior Warrior Eiden Ackland made the NYC Academic Team of the Year.


The Players’ Champion – James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

The Players’ 13 Dream Team: James Tedesco (Wests Tigers), Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders), Konrad Hurrell (Gold Coast Titans), Dane Gagai (Newcastle Knights), David Nofoaluma (Wests Tigers), Gareth Widdop (St. George Illawarra), Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers), Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers), Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm), David Klemmer (Canterbury-Bankstown), Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland), Wade Graham (Cronulla-Sutherland), Sam Burgess (South Sydney)

Harvey Norman Rookie of the Year – Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)

Harvey Norman Dennis Tutty Award – James Maloney (Cronulla Sharks)

One Solutions Australian Representative Player – Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm/Australia/Queensland)

Phone A Flight New Zealand Representative Player – Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland)

One Solutions Rest of the World Representative Player – Josh Hodgson (England)

Harvey Norman Australian Representative Women’s Player of the Year – Simaima Taufa (Australian Jillaroos)

Phone A Flight New Zealand Representative Women’s Player of the Year – Sarina Fiso (New Zealand Kiwi Ferns)

Harvey Norman NYC Player of the Year – Harry Grant (Melbourne Storm)


Indigenous Leadership & Excellence – Ryan James (Gold Coast Titans)
Pasifika Leadership & Excellence – Adam Blair (Brisbane Broncos)

NYC Academic Team of the Year: Billy Magoulias (Sharks), Blake Manowski (Rabbitohs), Dane Aukafolau (Eels), Eiden Ackland (Warriors), Harry Grant (Storm), Joseph Ratuvakacereivalu (Roosters), Joseph Tramontana (Bulldogs), Liam Martin (Panthers), Mitchell Dunn (Cowboys), Patrick Carringan (Broncos), Royce Tout (Wests Tigers), Stuart Mason (Dragons), Tyrone Roberts-Davis (Titans)