Home LATEST Rapana crowned Dally M Winger of the Year

Rapana crowned Dally M Winger of the Year


Kiwi international Jordan Rapana was recognised as the best winger in the NRL at the Dally M Awards in Sydney on September 28.

Rapana, 28, comes off a season where he scored 21 tries and made 24 line breaks in 23 games, to stand out as one of the game’s best attacking weapons for the second year in a row.

The Wellington-born flyer was the only New Zealand winner on the night, as destructive Kiwis lock Jason Taumalolo was controversially overlooked as the Dally M Lock of the Year, despite enjoying a year where he set a new record in running for over 5,000 metres individually, to help carry his North Queensland Cowboys to the Grand Final.

Final Dally M Medal points

33 points – Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)

25 points – Michael Morgan (North Queensland)

24 points – Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra)

22 points – Luke Keary (Sydney Roosters)

22 points – Paul Gallen (Cronulla)

21 points – Daly Cherry-Evans (Manly)

20 points – Billy Slater (Melbourne)

19 points – Jason Taumalolo (North Queensland)

19 points – Corey Norman (Parramatta)

18 points – James Tedesco (Wests Tigers)

2017 Dall M winners

Dally M Player of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Captain of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Coach of the Year: Craig Bellamy (Melbourne Storm)
Peter Moore Award for Rookie of the Year: Nick Cotric (Canberra Raiders)
Fullback of the Year: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
Winger of the Year: Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders)
Centre of the Year: Dylan Walker (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles)
Five-eighth of the Year: Gareth Widdop (St George Illawarra Dragons)
Halfback of the Year: Michael Morgan (North Queensland Cowboys)
Lock of the Year: Paul Gallen (Cronulla-Sutherland Sharks)
Second-rower of the Year: Matt Gillett (Brisbane Broncos)
Prop of the Year: Aaron Woods (Wests Tigers)
Hooker of the Year: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
Interchange Player of the Year: Reagan Campbell-Gillard (Penrith Panthers)
Tackle of the Year: Nathan Brown (Parramatta Eels)
Try of the Year: Kyle Feldt (North Queensland Cowboys)
Top Point Scorer: Nathan Cleary (Penrith Panthers)
Top Try Scorer: Suliasi Vunivalu (Melbourne Storm)
Provan Summons People’s Choice Medal: Clinton Gutherson (Parramatta Eels)
Holden Cup Player of the Year: Jake Clifford (North Queensland Cowboys)
Female Player of the Year: Simaima Taufa
Peter Frilingos Headline Moment: Mitchell Pearce (Sydney Roosters)

Dally M Medal Honour Roll

2017: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
2016: Cooper Cronk (Storm) and Jason Taumololo (Cowboys)
2015: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
2014: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys) and Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
2013: Cooper Cronk (Melbourne Storm)
2012: Ben Barba (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
2011: Billy Slater (Melbourne Storm)
2010: Todd Carney (Sydney Roosters)
2009: Jarryd Hayne (Parramatta Eels)
2008: Matt Orford (Manly Sea Eagles)
2007: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
2006: Cameron Smith (Melbourne Storm)
2005: Johnathan Thurston (North Qld Cowboys)
2004: Danny Buderus (Newcastle Knights)
2003: Not awarded
2002: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)
2001: Preston Campbell (Cronulla Sharks)
2000: Trent Barrett (St George Illawarra Dragons)
1999: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)
1998: Andrew Johns (Newcastle Knights)
1997: Not awarded
1996: Allan Langer (Brisbane Broncos)
1995: Laurie Daley (Canberra Raiders)
1994: Cliff Lyons (Manly Sea Eagles)
1993: Ricky Stuart (Canberra Raiders)
1992: Gary Freeman (Eastern Suburbs Roosters)
1991: Michael Potter (St George Dragons)
1990: Cliff Lyons (Manly Sea Eagles)
1989: Gavin Miller (Cronulla Sharks)
1988: Gavin Miller (Cronulla Sharks)
1987: Peter Sterling (Parramatta Eels)
1986: Peter Sterling (Parramatta Eels)
1985: Greg Alexander (Penrith Panthers)
1984: Michael Potter (Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs)
1983: Terry Lamb (Western Suburbs Magpies)
1982: Ray Price (Parramatta Eels)
1981: Steve Rogers (Cronulla Sharks)
1980: Robert Laurie (South Sydney Rabbitohs)

(Photo: Jordan Rapana. Credit: raiders.com.au).