Home FEATURES Junior Kangaroos 46 Junior Kiwis 22

Junior Kangaroos 46 Junior Kiwis 22

Junior Kangaroos 46 Junior Kiwis 22

The Junior Kangaroos were completely dominant through the first half, clocking 30 unanswered points, in an eventual 46-22 win over the Junior Kiwis on Friday night at GIO Stadium, Canberra. Below is how it all went down.


Full-time: Junior Kiwis thoroughly outclassed, but the scoreline doesn’t look as bad as it could have. Junior Kangaroos 46 Junior Kiwis 22 it finishes

79′ TRY! Briton Nikora in for the Junior Kiwis’ fourth try and New Zealand will finish the match on a positive. The conversion is good and that finished it at Junior Kiwis 46 Junior Kiwis 22

78′ Two very tired teams now playing out the final exchanges

71′ TRY! Corey Allan streaks clear from 20 metres after some nice second-phase from Australia. Jai Field adds the extras. Junior Kangaroos 46 Junior Kiwis 16

65′ TRY! Jarome Luai in for New Zealand and the scoreboard looks a little more respectable now. Patrick Herbert converts and it’s Junior Kangaroos 40 Junior Kiwis 16

59′ TRY! Junior Kiwis in again, this time via Dane Aukafolau. Kick is away. Australia 40 NZ 10

51′ TRY! Finally the Kiwis are on the board, with Steven Marsters going over for a converted try. Junior Kangaroos 40 Junior Kiwis 6

47′ TRY! Soft defence from the Kiwis and Jaydn Su’A strolls over from close range. Jai Field misses the kick. Australia 40-0

43′ TRY! Second half starts as the first one finished. Cameron  Murray extends the lead with a try and Jai Field converts for a 36-0 lead for Australia

41′ Back underway here and New Zealand start with a good set

Half-time: Junior Kangaroos 30 Junior Kiwis 0. It’s no contest after 40 minutes.

39′ TRY! Another penalty conceded, another try conceded. Australia stretch New Zealand out wide and Jesse Ramien scores in the corner. Jai Field’s conversion is wide, leaving the score at Junior Kangaroos 30 Junior Kiwis 0 at half-time

37′ TRY! New Zealand out on their feet and Reece Robson takes full advantage to zip over for his double. Jai Field adds the extras to make it 26-0 to Australia

33′ TRY! Brodie Croft sums up play well and delivers a great pass for Tyrone Roberts-Davis to claim his second try. Jai Field’s kick is well away and it’s 20-0 to the Junior Kangaroos

31′ Another poor end to a set sees the Junior Kiwis give away a penalty on last tackle

29′ A Junior Kangaroos error gives us a rare set inside the attacking 40

26′ TRY! Gold Coast Titans NRL player Tyrone Roberts-Davis makes the Junior Kiwis pay for a sloppy penalty by scoring in the corner. Field pushes the kick wide. Junior Kangaroos 16-0.

24′ Nice run from Reimis Smith to take us into the attacking half. Corey Allan easily claims our end-of-set kick

21′ Drop from Talakai coming out of yardage. This will put New Zealand under some pressure 30 off their line

20′ Junior Kiwis looked a little lost on that set, resorting to hot potato footy. Australia scramble well to hold out

18′ Relieving penalty for the Junior Kiwis are we are on the attack

15′ TRY! Reece Robson with a cheeky dummy-half dart and he’s over. Jai Field adds the extras and the lead is doubled. 12-0 Junior Kangaroos

14′ Junior Kangaroos winning the field position battle right now and Australia making easy yardage

10′ TRY! Sam Stone over for the opening try. Jai Field converts for a 6-0 lead for the Junior Kangaroos

6′ Jaydn Su’A held up over the line and the Kiwis survive back-to-back sets

4′ Junior Kiwis survive an early scare after Jesse Ramien cliams a high ball next to the line

1′ We are underway here with the Junior Kiwis kicking off.


Junior Kiwis: 1. Steve Marsters, 2. Greg Marzhew, 3. Reimis Smith, 4. Dane Aukafolau, 5. Patrick Herbert, 6. Chanel Harris-Tavita, 7. Jarome Luai (captain), 8. Emry Pere, 9. Erin Clark, 10. Fabien Paletua-Kiri, 11. Briton Nikroa, 12. Siosifa Talakai, 13. Isaiah Papali’i. Interchange: 14. Manase Fainu, 15. Moeaki Fotuaika, 16. Kaleb Fuimaono, 17. Sitili Tupouniua, 18. Sione Katoa.

Junior Kangaroos: 1. Corey Allan, 2. Tyronne Roberts-Davis, 3. Enari Tuala, 4. Jesse Ramien, 5. Curtis Scott, 6. Jai Field, 7. Brodie Croft (captain), 8. Stefano Hala, 9. Reece Robson, 10. Blake Lawrie, 11. Jaydn Su’A, 12. Sam Stone, 13. Cameron Murray. Interhcnage: 14. Victor Radley, 15. Jack Murchie, 16. Ray Stone, 17. Emre Guler, 18. Gehamat Shibasaki.


(Main photo: photosport.nz).