Home FEATURES Leeds overcome Castleford for Super League title

Leeds overcome Castleford for Super League title

Leeds overcome Castleford for Super League title

Leeds Rhinos have been crowned Betfred Super League champions for an eighth time, following a masterful display led by Harry Sunderland winner Danny McGuire, against Castleford Tigers.

The result sends Hull KR-bound McGuire and retiring hero Rob Burrow away from Headingley on a huge high, as was the case two years ago when Kevin Sinfield, Jamie Peacock and Kylie Leuluai left the club in 2015.

McGuire was instrumental in the first try of the game as his cross-field kick found Tom Briscoe who touched down in the corner.

The stand-off then added a drop goal on the hooter to give Leeds a 7-0 half-time lead.

Castleford had won all four meetings against their West Yorkshire rivals in 2017, but Leeds’ Grand Final experience started to show as McGuire then went over for a try of his own on 52 minutes.

Winger Briscoe then went over for his second on the hour mark, giving the Rhinos a 17-0 lead with just a quarter of the game left.

McGuire made it a dream send off in Blue and Amber as he then scored his second of the match, his eigth Grand Final try in total.

With just two minutes to go, Castleford ensured they didn’t go down as the only club to be nilled at a Grand Final as Alex Foster crossed for a try, which was converted by Man of Steel Luke Gale.

(Photo: rugby-league.com).

Leeds 24 (Briscoe x2, McGuire x2; Watkins 3 goals; McGuire 2 field goals) def. Castleford 6 (Foster try; Gale 1 goal).