Home Kiwis Kiwis squad named

Kiwis squad named

Kiwis squad named

Five new players are in line to make their Test debut for the Kiwis, with New Zealand naming their squad for the upcoming match against Australia and tour of England. (Evan Semón Photography evan.semon@gmail.com).

Raymond Faitala-Mariner (Canterbury-Bankstown), Slade Griffin (Newcastle) and Herman Ese’ese (Newcastle) were ruled out due to injury.

Kiwis coach Michael Maguire reflected on his new-look side.

“This is a new era for the Kiwis and that’s again reflected in the make-up of this squad as it was for the Denver Test,” Maguire said.

“A lot of experienced players have moved on in recent years in the shape of Simon Mannering, Thomas Leuluai, Manu Vatuvei, Jason Nightingale, Ben Matulino, Kieran Foran, Russell Packer and others.

“We’re also without Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Issac Luke, Tohu Harris and Nelson Asofa-Solomona this time, while there have been a number of players who have aligned themselves with Tonga.

“For us it’s really exciting bringing in these new players as we strive to take the national side to the place we want it to be. That starts with the Test against the Kangaroos.”

Kiwis squad: Leeson Ah Mau (St George-Illawarra Dragons) 1 cap; Gerard Beale (Warriors) 10; Adam Blair (Warriors) 45; Jesse Bromwich (Melbourne Storm) 24; Kenneath Bromwich (Melbourne Storm) 3; James Fisher-Harris (Penrith Panthers) 2; Corey Hawawira-Naera (Penrith Panthers) 0; Jahrome Hughes (Melbourne Storm) 0; Jamayne Isaako (Brisbane Broncos) 1; Shaun Johnson (Warriors) 25; Isaac Liu (Sydney Roosters) 3; Joseph Manu (Sydney Roosters) 0; Esan Marsters (Wests Tigers) 1; Ken Maumalo (Warriors) 1; Kodi Nikorima (Brisbane Broncos) 9; Isaiah Papali’i (Warriors) 0; Kevin Proctor (Gold Coast Titans) 17; Jordan Rapana (Canberra Raiders) 8; Brandon Smith (Melbourne Storm) 0; Joseph Tapine (Canberra Raiders) 8; Martin Taupau (Manly-Warringah Sea Eagles) 21; Jared Waerea-Hargreaves (Sydney Roosters) 24; Dallin Watene-Zelezniak (Penrith Panthers) 7

Upcoming games

Saturday, October 13                v Australia        Mount Smart Stadium, Auckland
Saturday, October 27                v England         KC Stadium, Hull
Sunday, November 4                v England         Anfield, Liverpool
Saturday, November 10            v England         Elland Road, Leeds