Home FEATURES France announce World Cup squad

France announce World Cup squad

France announce World Cup squad

France coach Aurelien Cologni has announced his squad for the upcoming 2017 Rugby League World Cup campaign.

The 24-man squad contains a mix of players from the English Super League and the domestic competition.

In total, there are eight players from the Perpignan-based Catalan Dragons, six from English Super League teams and 10 from the French Premier Division.

Theo Fages, the St Helens halfback, has been named as the team’s captain, with William Barthau from Toulouse Olympic and Benjamin Garcia from the Catalan Dragons as co vice-captains.

The team is a mix of experienced and up-and-coming players, with Jason Baitieri (15 Tests) Julian Bousquet (10), Benjamin Garcia (10) and Eloi Pelissier (14) leading the squad.

France squad: 
Bastien Ader
Olivier Arnaud
Lucas Albert
Jason Baitieri
William Barthau (VC)
Guillaume Bonnet
Julian Bousquet
Clement Boyer
Damien Cardace
Nabil Djalout
Theo Fages (C)
John Boudebza
Benjamin Garcia (VC)
Maxime Herold
Benjamin Jullien
Thibault Margalet
Anthony Maria
Hakim Miloudi
Mark Keirallah
Romain Navarette
Eloi Pleissier
Mickael Rouch
Gadwin Springer
Fouad Yaha