Home FEATURES Ferns overlook star for final

Ferns overlook star for final

Ferns overlook star for final

Kiwi Ferns coach Tony Benson has named his side for Saturday night’s Women’s Rugby League World Cup final against the Australian Jillaroos in Brisbane, with one major omission. (Photo: NRLPhotos).

Star five-eighth Georgia Hale has been left out of the team in favour of international newcomer Raecene McGregor, with Benson preferring her style against the formidable Jillaroos.

Captain Laura Mariu will play in her fifth and final World Cup decider, while a number of other Kiwi Ferns are expected to call it a day following the tournament.

The tournament’s top try-scorer (11), Honey Hireme, will start on the wing with Women’s Player of the Tournament, Teuila Fotu-Moala, in the pack.

A win for the New Zealand Women’s Rugby League team would see them secure their fourth World Cup title in five attempts.

The women’s final, which will take place prior to the men’s final at Suncorp Stadium, will be live on Sky Sport in New Zealand and 7 Mate in Australia from 3.15pm AEST and 6.15pm NZT.

Kiwi Ferns  

1 – Apii Nicholls-Pualau

2 – Atawhai Tupaea

3 – Maitua Feterika

4 – Shontelle Woodman

5 – Honey Hireme

6 – Raecene McGregor

7 – Kimiora Nati

8 – Lilieta Maumau

9 – Krystal Rota

10 – Aieshaleigh Smalley

11- Teuila Fotu-Moala

12 – Hilda Peters

13 – Laura Mariu (Captain)


14 – Nita Maynard

15- Krystal Murray

16 – Ngatokotoru Arakua

17 – Amber Kani


18 – Georgia Hale

19 – Louisa Gago